The McMeekan Memorial Award recognises a outstanding recent individual or joint contribution to animal production in New Zealand or the Society. The term ‘recent’ means within the last five years. Nominations must be submitted to the Executive Secretary by the end of September each year.

The McMeekan Memorial Award is in honour of a NZSAP foundation member, past president and distinguished leader in animal production research and administration, in New Zealand and throughout the world. "Mac" had a tremendous influence on New Zealand agricultural research and was instrumental in the development of Ruakura as a world renowned agricultural research centre.

Oration for Dr C P McMeekan

Recent McMeekan Recipients

YearName / Oration
2021Sue McCoard
2019Harry Clarke
2018NM Lopez-Villalobos
2017SR Davis
2016Roger W Purchas
2015Velmurugu (Ravi) Ravindran
2013Neville Jopson
2011Christopher A. Morris
2010David M. Leathwick
2008Bevin L. Harris
2007Ken G. Dodds
2006Murray Woolford
2005Tom N Barry
2004Colin W Holmes
2003John C McEwan
2002David N Wells
2001Tom E Broad
2001Allan M Crawford
2000Geoff W Asher
1999Geoff B Nicoll
1998Brian W Wickham
1997Neville D Grace
1995John F Smith
1994George H Davis
1992Ken P McNatty
1991Andrew R Sykes
1990Peter F Fennessy
1988Ken E Jury
1986J Neil Clarke
1984Arnold M Bryant
1983K L (Jock) Macmillan
1981Ken R Drew
1980Graeme K Hight
1979A Eric Gibson
1978Peter H Elworthy
1977A (Al) L Rae
1976John B Hutton
1975Pat Shannon