Sir Arthur Ward Award

The Sir Arthur Ward Award recognises the successful application of research or experience to an aspect of animal production in New Zealand. The nominee may be an individual, a company or an organisation, and need not be a member of the Society. Nominations, signed by two current financial members of the Society, must document how the nominee has contributed towards the adoption of a practise (or practises) that has facilitated more efficient animal production. The phrase 'adoption of a practise' is interpreted widely in order to accommodate contributions through extension, product development etc. Nominations remain active for consideration for three years. Nominations must be submitted to the Executive Secretary by the end of September each year.

Sir Arthur Ward made a tremendous contribution to New Zealand animal production. Arriving in NZ in 1926 as a farmworker, by 1930 he was secretary of the largest herd testing association in NZ, by 1936 he headed technical development of Herd Improvement and was Director of Herd Improvement in 1945. In 1954 he was appointed as General Manager of the New Zealand Dairy Board and held that role until 1970. He was a member of many other organisations including Chancellor of Massey University and contributed in many other spheres. Sir Arthur played a very prominent role in the foundation and development of this society. He was a member of the national organising committee of the first conference, the first secretary, subsequently became a honourary life member in 1965, and was instrumental in sponsoring this award.

Award Regulations

Recent Sir Arthur Ward Awards

YearName / Oration
2019Tom Fraser
2017Sheryl-Anne Newman
2016JM Everett-Hincks
2015GJ Greer
2014DJ Moot
2011Paul R. Kenyon
2009Gerard Hall
2008Stephen T. Morris
2007D.R. Stevens
2006Robin Campbell
2004John W Penno
2003Anthony J Pearse
2002Paul D Muir
2000A J (Jock) Allison
1999D Clive Dalton
1998Landcorp Farming Ltd
1997Colin W Holmes
1996New Zealand Dairy Exporter
1995New Zealand Meat and Wool Board's Economic Service
1994James A H Guild
1993Brian Curson
1991Peter M Packard
1990Thomas D McKenzie
1989Gallagher Electronics Ltd
1988R David Wallace
1986Max W Cooper
1985Tim Wallis
1984Des G Clayton
1983A (Tony) G H Parker
1982W (Bill) D Short & Malcolm E Smith
1981NZ Dairy Board Consulting Officers