A variety of awards and travel grants are administered by the NZSAP committee. 


The Society has a number of awards that it administers or facilitates to recognise outstanding contributions in the field of Animal Science.  

McMeekan Memorial Award: The most prestigious award of the Society recognises a substantial contribution to animal production in New Zealand or the Society over the previous five years. The nominee need not be a member of the Society.**

Sir Arthur Ward Award: Recognises the successful application of research via a practice or practices which facilitates more efficient animal production in New Zealand. The nominee may be an individual a team or a company and need not be a member(s) of the Society.**

Young Member Award: An award made to foster excellence in science and presentation, made to a young member at the Annual Conference of the Society. The awardee must be under 35, the senior author and presenting either their first or second paper to the society.***

Honorary Life Membership: Awarded to persons who have rendered signal service to the cause of animal science who shall be elected at an Annual General Meeting or General Meeting.**

The Living Legend Lecture: This is a society invitation to a distinguished long-term member to make a scholarly presentation on their life’s work to the Annual Conference.***

75th Jubilee Technicians Award: to recognise an outstanding contribution by an individual technician to the facilitation of quality research in New Zealand animal production and/or the Society.

Jubilee University Awards: These awards are made each year by Massey and Lincoln Universities to the 3rd year degree student at each Institution who exhibits high achievement in Animal Production and Science. ****

** Nominations for these awards are called for annually, with final application dates confirmed in the newsletter and on the website for each year

*** These awards are facilitated through the conference organising committee with support from the NZSAP committee

**** These awards are determined by the respective Universities with no input from the NZSAP committee 

Travel Grants

The society administers a number of travel grants: 

Animal Science Award: A fund set up to promote and advance animal science and production. The award aims at improving the international profile of NZSAP and encourages exchange of information and ideas. The fund specifically supports and encourages early career development. Applications for awards are required by 31 January and 31 July each year.

Alan Crawford Memorial Travel Award: A fund administered by NZSAP to support international travel for technicians/research associates in particular to acquire new skills and knowledge in the area of gene discovery, function and inheritance. Applications for awards are required by 31 January and 31 July each year.

Ruminant Reproduction Symposium (RRS) Travel Award: A fund to support attendance of science personnel in New Zealand to attend the International Ruminant Reproduction Symposium held every 4 years.

Murray Woolford Young Dairy Scientist Award: A award in memory of the late Murray Woolford to provide opportunities for early career scientists (less than 10 years following Award of PhD) to build their professional network by travelling to research institutions, technology development companies, or dairy industry organisations in countries engaging in dairy production. 

Note: Travel Award Deadlines are:

  • 31st January for travel after 1st April
  • 31st July for travel after 1st October
  • RRS Award (every four years): 31st October prior to the conference being held

Previous Society Awards

Awards that have previously been awarded by the society but have been discontinued are listed below, including a description of the award and previous recipients:-